Guns Firearms and Weapons Bail Bonds

Possessing or owning a gun illegally in the state of Ohio will result in jail time. Even if it were legal for you at one time to own a gun, if you have been convicted of a felony or are now mentally ill or an addict, suddenly it is illegal to have a firearm or weapon in your possession.

  1. Possession of a Weapon as a Felon
    1. Once you have a felony on your permanent record, you may NEVER own or carry a gun or concealed weapon. If caught with a deadly weapon, you will immediately go to jail and wait for arraignment. The law is so strict in fact, you could face jail time just for being in the same home as a gun, even if it isn’t yours!
  2. Weapons while under disability
    1. Many are caught off guard with this law and it is quite serious as 3rd degree felony and punishable by up to 36 months in prison. This can affect not only your current employment, but also prove difficult to obtain a good job in the future. The ORC 2923.13 Having weapons while under disability strictly identifies who is considered “disabled” under this code:
      • The person is a fugitive from justice.
      • The person is under indictment for or has been convicted of any felony offense of violence or has been adjudicated a delinquent child for the commission of an offense that, if committed by an adult, would have been a felony offense of violence.
      • The person is under indictment for or has been convicted of any felony offense involving the illegal possession, use, sale, administration, distribution, or trafficking in any drug of abuse or has been adjudicated a delinquent child for the commission of an offense that, if committed by an adult, would have been a felony offense involving the illegal possession, use, sale, administration, distribution, or trafficking in any drug of abuse.
      • The person is drug dependent, in danger of drug dependence, or a chronic alcoholic.
      • The person is under adjudication of mental incompetence, has been adjudicated as a mental defective, has been committed to a mental institution, has been found by a court to be a mentally ill person subject to court order, or is an involuntary patient other than one who is a patient only for purposes of observation. As used in this division, "mentally ill person subject to court order" and "patient" have the same meanings as in section 5122.01 of the Revised Code.

But what if I have a concealed carry license? While this is a good step in protecting yourself and proving you are familiar with the CCW laws of Ohio, there are still instances where you could end up in jail, even as a CCW license holder.

Concealed Weapon Charge

While Ohio allows for concealed carry to properly licensed citizens, you could be charged with this crime if you do not have a license or you have let your license expire. Even if you do have a valid license, if you are caught with a concealed dangerous ordnance (i.e. sawed-off shotgun, grenade, zip/pen gun, rocket launcher or any other explosive device) you will be charged.

Improper discharge of a firearm

There are instances where you may have accidently discharged your firearm or legally discharged it but in an illegal place. You may not discharge a firearm into or at an individual’s residence, in a school zone or within 1000 feet of a school premises, on a public roadway, in a park near occupied residences, or even in a cemetery. Do so, even by accident could land you in trouble.

If you or a loved one has been arrested for a weapons charge, they need to be bonded out quickly so they can work with legal counsel to have their charges resolved. A weapons charge could mean serious jail time and should be treated as such. Contact the experienced bail bondsmen at SMD/HLS Bail bonds for their knowledgeable expertise in getting the defendant released with a Weapons Bail Bond.

Request Bail       Our Reviews       Menu

Contact Us
 
GET AN IMMEDIATE RESPONSE