Under Ohio law, Operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs (OVI) (ORC 4511.10), the penalty can vary depending on the blood level of alcohol or drugs and if it is a first time OVI offense or repeat OVI offense. With regards to alcohol, a BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) of 0.17% will increase the charge to an Aggravated DUI with serious consequences.
First Time OVI
If you are a first time OVI offender, the state of Ohio has mandatory minimum penalties. These include a minimum 3 days in jail or alterative program, 6-month license suspension and a large fine. The BAC in Ohio is 0.08% or higher, however, you can also be arrested and prosecuted for taking illegal or prescription drugs and driving if your ability to operate a motor vehicle is impaired. Even smoking or taking marijuana legally or illegally can land you in jail.
Ohio Zero Tolerance Laws
If you are under 21, the BAC limit is a mere 0.02%, thus a single drink could land you in trouble where you will be charged with Operating a vehicle after underage consumption (OVAUC). OVAUC is a fourth-degree misdemeanor which carries penalties of up to 30 days in jail, $250 fine and up to two-year license suspension. If convicted, there is a mandatory 60 day waiting period to get driving privileges, you must retake your driver’s license test, and carry an SR-22 bond on your auto insurance.
Multiple OVI Offense
OVI penalties increase based upon the number of OVI convictions in the past 10 years:
- 1st Offense – 3 days to 6 months jail, fines up to $1075, and license suspension 1 to 3 years
- 2nd Offense – 10 days to 6 months jail, fines up to $1623, and license suspension 1 to 7 years
- 3rd Offense – 30 days to 1 year jail, fines up to $2750, and license suspension 2 to 12 years
An OVI is upgraded to an Aggravated OVI if the BAC of at least 0.17%, if a minor is present in the vehicle, the offense happens in a school zone, multiple prior OVI’s by the offender, if excessive speed occurred or if someone is injured or killed by the driver. Aggravated OVI charges are serious and you should bond out of jail as soon as possible so you can retain a reputable attorney.
With over 3 generations of experience at SMD & HLS Bail Bonds, we have experience with just about every scenario and have the resources available to bail you out of jail 24/7. A court appearance will be required after being charged with an OVI and our professional bail agents with provide you the tools necessary to be released from jail and make it to your scheduled appearance. Call our bail agents today at 614-257-9349 or 614-582-6049 to make arrangements for your release today!