Felony Assault Bail Bond Columbus Ohio

Assault laws in Ohio include both the offense of "assault" and the offense of "battery". Attempting or causing physical harm to a person is assault. Battery is to intentionally or negligently cause offensive physical harm. Generally, if you intended to harm someone, you will be charged with both assault and battery.

Felonious assault is defined by Ohio as:

  1. Cause serious physical harm to another or to another's unborn;
  2. Cause or attempt to cause physical harm to another or to another's unborn by means of a deadly weapon or dangerous ordnance.
  3. No person, with knowledge that the person has tested positive as a carrier of a virus that causes acquired immunodeficiency syndrom (AIDS), shall knowingly do any of the following:
    1. Engage in sexual conduct with another person without disclosing that knowledge to the other person prior to engaging in the sexual conduct;
    2. Engage in sexual conduct with a person whom the offender knows or has reasonable cause to believe lacks the mental capacity to appreciate the significance of the knowledge that the offender has tested positive as a carrier of a virus that causes acquired immunodeficiency syndrome;
    3. Engage in sexual conduct with a person under eighteen years of age who is not the spouse of the offender.

Source: http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/2903.11 & https://statelaws.findlaw.com/ohio-law/ohio-assault-and-battery-laws.html

Penalty for Assault in Ohio

There are various levels of assault ranging from misdemeanor basic assault to felonious assault of the 1st degree with a maximum sentence of 11 years of imprisonment.

Basic Assault: Generally a first-degree misdemeanor. If convicted, up to six months in jail and up to $1000 fine.

Negligent Assault: Third-degree misdemeanor. If convicted, up to 60 days in jail and up to $500 fine.

Aggravated Assault: Fourth-degree felony. If convicted, up to 6 years in prison and up to $15,000 fine.

Felonious Assault: Second-degree felony. If convicted, up to 8 years in prison and up to $20,000 fine.

Felonious Assault: First-degree felony. If convicted, up to 11 years in prison and up to $20,000 fine. If a firearm was used, a mandatory additional 3 years is added to your sentence.

Source: http://www.attorneys.com/criminal-defense/ohio/assault-defenses

Bail Bonds for Assault & Battery in Ohio

Regardless of the degree of the charge, if you are arrested you don't want to spend more time than you have to in jail with violent criminals. Call SMD & HLS Bail Bonds to help get you out as soon as possible. Our knowledgeable bondsmen can help walk you through the bail process and make sure you make it to your scheduled hearing with our free bail bond app. Don't delay, call SMD & HLS today 24/7 @ 614-257-9349 or 614-582-6049 to make arrangements for your release today!

 

Request Bail       Our Reviews       Menu

Contact Us
 
GET AN IMMEDIATE RESPONSE